Telephone: +44 (0) 1293 771522   Email: enquiries@vulcan-lodge.com

Vulcan Lodge Guest House, Gatwick

Guest Feedback and Reviews

We always welcome Guest Critique, and dedicate this page on our web site to displaying feed-back on Vulcan Lodge Guest House, local restaurants and amenities, and the town itself. Please use the form below to let us have information on the impressions that we made upon your visit.

Submitting Form...

The server encountered an error.

Form received.

TripAdvisor Reviews

We have listed below some recent reviews, which have been most gratefully received. Please visit TripAdvisor to review more feedback from our Guests. Click here for Vulcan Lodge reviews at www.tripadvisor.com

 

If You Want Accomodation Near Gatwick Look No Further

TripAdvisor Review by Nicholas W - 5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2014

 

Stayed the night before flying from Gatwick. Karen and her husband were both very welcoming. The room was comfy and there were nice touches, like bottled water and biscuits with the tea. We had a full English breakfast before leaving, which was also excellent. Whilst we were away we left our car there and the price was very reasonable. Karen also arranged a taxi to and from the airport and this service was also very efficient. I would not hesitate to return, I would not waste my time looking anywhere else.

 

 

Exceptional Service - Highly Recommended

TripAdvisor Review by Lynda C - 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

 

Spent a long time looking for an overnight stay at hotels near to Gatwick airport then came across Vulcan Lodge, what a find! Beautiful accommodation, we were warmly greeted by Karen, Colin, their two dogs and cat.

Our room was lovely and equipped to an exceptional standard and so quiet.

We asked Karen if we could book a breakfast on our return and despite being almost 3 hours late, we were provided with a beautifully cooked breakfast which was so welcome after our long journey home.

Thank you very much Karen for your hospitality.

 

 

Best Guest House in Horley

TripAdvisor Review by AlenEngland - 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 26 June 2014

 

This was our 1st stay at Vulcan Lodge and what a pleasure. Could not fault a thing. Karen was the perfect host and nothing was too much trouble. We just wish we had found Vulcan Lodge before. My wife and I will certainly be staying here again and will be recommending it to all our friends. Lovely House and Lovely Hosts.

 

Just Superb

TripAdvisor Review by Brandsman - 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 23 June 2014

 

Wonderful place to stay. Great hosts, great accommodation and lovely animals. Customer service far exceeds what could be expected. No airport noise at all. Perfect for Gatwick. Highly recommended - thank you.

 

 Amazing people, amazing stay

TripAdvisor Review by Juliet B - 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 19 June 2014

 

What an absolute pleasure to stay somewhere that on the first occasion feels like your second home. Nothing was too much trouble and the owners went above and beyond. All I can say is a big thank you and I will definitely be back for another dose of excellent service x

 

Home away from home...

TripAdvisor Review by SueFoster - 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Vulcan Lodge and once again we received excellent service and a friendly and warm welcome. We felt like we were part of the family and would not hesitate in recommending the place to friends and familiy. We will definitely stay again the next time we visit the UK and look forward to spending time again with Karen and Colin and of course their lovely pets.

 

Great overnight stay for Gatwick with parking

TripAdvisor Review by LeonPurton - 5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

 

We usually stay at a hotel or B&B prior to holiday flights. This year our flight left from Gatwick. We found Vulcan Lodge on the Internet.

What a fortunate choice it turned out to be; the owners, Karen & Colin Moon, are lovely, friendly people and made us feel welcome, via email, even before we arrived.

Their B&B has a well deserved AA 4* rating and they also provided safe parking for our car. The whole experience was delightful, a lovely house, sheltered from the road and secluded. The continental breakfast was very good with the option of full English breakfast, if required.

We highly recommend Vulcan Lodge and will certainly return when flying from Gatwick.

 

Tonia & Darren - Excellent as always!

TripAdvisor Review by Tonia B - 5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

 

We have stayed five times now at Vulcan Lodge and look forward to it almost as much as our holiday!

Karen and Colin are perfect hosts who make us feel very welcome every time we stay.

The rooms are lovely, very clean, comfortable and quiet. Only a five minute taxi ride to Gatwick airport and local pubs are within walking distance.

We are booked to stay again in September 2014. Thank you Karen and Colin!

 

Excellent

TripAdvisor Review by Steve H - 5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

 

We have stayed five times now at Vulcan Lodge and look forward to it almost as much as our holiday!

Karen and Colin are perfect hosts who make us feel very welcome every time we stay.

The rooms are lovely, very clean, comfortable and quiet. Only a five minute taxi ride to Gatwick airport and local pubs are within walking distance.

We are booked to stay again in September 2014. Thank you Karen and Colin!

 

Best in town /best of everything

TripAdvisor Review by Kirsche24, Hamburg - 5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

 

This is my second time at the Vulcan Lodge and it was perfect again, Karen and Colin made my stay just wonderful.

I love the rooms and the location.

Karen helps whenever she can, she is always there for you.

The breakfast is all you are looking for.

The Lodge is close to the airport, the train station (35 minutes to Victoria) and to the local pubs.

It is quiet although so close to the airport.

Everything is clean and spotless.

For me it was like seeing friends again.

Hope to be back soon. Thank you for everything

 

Excellent Quality and Value

TripAdvisor Review by AJB26210, Guernsey, Channel Islands - 5 of 5 stars Reviewed March, 10, 2014

 

1) Great location - Close to shops, restaurants, pubs, the train station and a 5 minute taxi ride to Gatwick Airport.

Yet it is quiet in the rooms and easy to sleep.

2) Exceptionally friendly welcome. Nothing is too much trouble for the lovely hosts.

3) Food - Breakfast was of a high standard and plentiful.

4) Comfort - The rooms are very clean and in good order.

A good sized TV, kettle and nice touches of bottled water, tea, coffee and biscuits available in the rooms.

Free wifi is available throughout the lodge, and is fast & secure.

 

Excellent accommodation close to all facilities in Horley

TripAdvisor Review by GarryCh2013 - 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 15 February 2014

 

My Experience do date staying @ the Vulcan lodge Guest house has exceeded my expectations with the friendliness shown by both Karen & Colin & the room I have had on my stays with the bathroom attached has been very comfortable.

Karen's hospitality is superb,& the Breakfast I have had each morning has been a great start to the day.I have no hesitation & can highly recommend staying at this Superb, B&B.

Kindest regards to Karen & Colin

 

Room Tip: My Room was at the front of the house with a Bathroom attached very comfortable!

 

Vulcan' Brilliant!

TripAdvisor Review by MikeNewport_Pembs - 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 22 January 2014

 

We stayed with Karen and Colin over Christmas, leaving our car. The place is extremely comfortable, warm and friendly, as are the hosts. Good eating nearby.

While we were away the Great Floods came. Karen kept us fully in touch, even offering to move the car to higher ground if necessary, and giving it a run now and then. This was above the call of duty and much appreciated.

We have stayed at several Gatwick B&Bs, and this is definitely the Best, most comfortable and best value too!

Many thanks!

 

High quality comfort and good location

TripAdvisor Review by BristolOmsk, Bristol - 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 21 October 2013

 

Stayed one night at each end of three week holiday flying from Gatwick. Have stayed elsewhere in Horley before but the very high quality of this accommodation means that it will be our first choice in the future. On site parking at a reasonable rate, very comfortable rooms and good breakfast.

As to detail, I agree with all the good things mentioned on other reviews. The exceptionally high standard of all the categories to rate means that it is good value for money and the location could not be better for easy access to the airport although Vulcan Lodge itself is in a quiet position and off the main road.

Glad to finally have found somewhere that gives a comfortable and relaxing start/end to a holiday.

 

Horley's best B & B!

TripAdvisor Review by Steffens1975, Grimstad, Norway  - 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 23 September 2013

 

Stayed at Vulcan in July when I visited Goodwood Festival of Speed with some friends.

Only positive things to say about this place! Very comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast and the owners are very helpful:-) Will be back next year!

 

Lovely o`night stay

TripAdvisor Review by  Carol W, Berlin, Germany - 4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 August 2013

 

We stayed one night in July before our flight the next day from Gatwick.

The house is delightful as are the Lady and Gent owners.

Worth a stay before flying off from Gatwick or simply staying for a few days.

Extremely comfortable rooms. Great en-suite bathroom.

Breakfast is a choice of continental (gratis) or cooked 5 pounds extra.

My kids loved the two collie dogs and the cat Max.

Thank you Karen and Colin.

 

Once again a pleasant stay

TripAdvisor Review by  Piebaps, Isle of Man - 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 8 July 2013

 

As usual, when a London overnight is required, my first port of call is Karen at the Vulcan Lodge. Once again, she remembered my partner's aversion to dogs and had the household pets secured away on our arrival.

Room was quiet and comfy and breakfast was excellent. It is however the "what happened next" which prompted my second review of Vulcan Lodge.

On our return to the UK, we suffered a flight delay at Melbourne Airport. This meant we missed out connecting flight back home to the Isle of Man and we therefore needed an extra unplanned night in the UK.

Karen alas had no spare rooms but agreed to make a booking elsewhere in Horley and text us the details. She also phoned the taxi firm which was picking us up at Heathrow just to make sure they were aware of the 15 hour delay.

Sure enough, the booking was there at one of her competitors when we arrived and the taxi was there too.

An excellent stay at the Lodge and Karen's assistance was very much above and beyond the call of duty.
Her assistance is definitely something you won't get at the new chain hotel at the airport terminal.

 

Very good experience

 Lovemybeaches, Hemel Hempstead  - 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 23 June 2013

 

Stayed at Vulcan before a trip out of Gatwick, Karen & Colin are very welcoming. Everything you could need is provided and breakfast is very good.

We left our car for the duration of our trip and collected this without any issues.

Would certainly use again.

 

Cant fault it

TripAdvisor Review by  Sampford, Somerset - 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 21 May 2013

 

Stay here every time we fly from Gatwick and it is always the same. Treated like family, immaculately clean nothing to much trouble and the family (including the animals) are gems.

The pub close by, Ye Olde 6 Bells, is good for a quick pub supper but do book (can be done on line) as they are always busy.

 

Fab Hotel and great early check in

TripAdvisor Review by  Faye R, Newport, United Kingdom  - 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 May 2013

 

We have stayed in many of the Hotels / B&Bs on Massetts Road and around Gatwick and must admit this is probably the best one. We stayed the night before we flew and the day we returned. With an early check-in on our return at 8:30am we were able to get our heads down after a long haul flight back from Vietnam and then leave the next day after almost a full day's sleep. It's worth paying the extra for the cooked breakfast in the morning - which was fantastic.

Really friendly owners who are really welcoming. Will definitely be staying again when flying from Gatwick and would definitely recommend !

 

Room Tip: We stayed in the large double room overlooking the front - can't remember which number it was.

 

Excellent Guest House for Gatwick

TripAdvisor Review by Areanynamesleft, Cardiff, United Kingdom  - 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 8 April 2013

 

We and two friends stayed here for the first time in March, prior to a flight to Vietnam. It is a lovely property and Karen is excellent and very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast good. Parking was very reasonable.

We will definitely stay next time we fly from Gatwick

 

 

Excellent B&B to stay before flying from Gatwick

TripAdvisor Review by  Admiral_Forest3416, Saltash, Cornwall - 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 19 February 2013

 

My wife and I stayed at Vulcan Lodge on 03/02/13. Karen's communications via email were prompt and she organised our taxi for 0630hrs the next morning.

It is situated very close (easy walking distance) to main Horley town and the pubs and restaurants. The parking was very cheap compared to other B&Bs in the same street. Taxis are only £5 to the airport so they do not inflate their costs by putting on 'free' transport.

The room was spotless and nicely appointed with a comfortable bed. The continental breakfast was more than sufficient. Colin made a point of seeing us off in the early morning, and meeting us when we came back at a similar time this morning.

We hope to stay again next year.

 

Horley's best kept secret!

TripAdvisor Review by  Chasbutterworth, London, United Kingdom - 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 November 2012

 

When returning from abroad, I always try to stay at Vulcan Lodge before driving home. Karen and Colin always ensure that I can check-in as early as possible, so that I can overcome the stress of the 'red-eye.' And, being set back off the main road, their guest house is always quiet and tranquil, which is remarkable considering it is located in the centre of Horley.

Best of all, the kind hospitality of the Owners is warm and friendly, while the welcome from Oscar and Sakie their two Border Collies is just incredible.

I am not sure that I should not be keeping this secret to myself.

 

Great little B & B lodge with genuine hospitality & warmth

TripAdvisor Review by  Alexander L, Casino, Australia - 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 18 October 2012

 

After traveling all the way from Australia, this is an, 'exceptional accommodation,' with excellent hospitality and genuinely friendly owner / operators, who 'go the extra mile' to ensure clients. have a comfortable and memorable stay.

Absolutely, nothing like "Fawlty Towers"  and there is no, 'Manuel' waiters there either. Excellent 'tucker' too !

Definitely staying there every visit to the UK and highly recommend it to everyone.

Graf Alexander von Lubanski. JP

 

Room Tip: All rooms are 'exceptionally well appointed to suit travellers. Lovely garden area, and close to the town centre.

 

The place to stop

TripAdvisor Review by  Rew_dick, Nottingham, United Kingdom - 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 October 2012

 

I have stopped here for several months now and I could not fault the rooms or Karen and Colin.

They are so welcoming and friendly that it does feel like a home from home.

The rooms are immaculate and Karen is so attentive to detail. The welcome you get when you enter is friendly but not intrusive and you even get a good welcome from the dogs Sake and Oscar.

I would stop here again in a heartbeat and I would recommend it to all.

 

Housewarming service, comfortable setting and the English breakfast is very good.

TripAdvisor Review by lmeletis - 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 February 2012 via mobile

 

I have stayed here three times now and I always have a great experience. Karen and Colin Cater to your every need.

The food is great, the setting is comfortable, the location is a few minutes walk from the train station, and the water pressure is perfect!

Love staying here every time I come. Lucas, Virginia, USA

 

 

 

 

Vulcan Lodge Guest House, 27 Massetts Road

Horley, Gatwick, Surrey, RH6 7DQ, England

Tel: 01293 771522 - Mob: 07980 576012 - Fax:  01293 220194

Email: enquiries@vulcan-lodge.com - Web www.vulcan-lodge.com